Quick Take: The Cabin in the Woods

The Cabin in the Woods (2012)

Directed by Drew Goddard
Written by Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon

A ridiculously fun ride.

On a rare trip to theaters a few weeks ago, I saw The Cabin in the Woods blindly. I read no reviews and I was completely unspoiled. Perhaps that’s the best way to experience the escalating tension of the film’s second half. You just have no idea where the hell the film is taking you.

Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard – who brought me the thrills and chills of Buffy long ago and far away – are adept in crafting carefully orchestrated mayhem and satirizing a genre that’s always ripe for picking. The cast all around delivers, but I must single out the greatness that are Bradley Whitford and Richard Jenkins. I hope the genius who decided to pair them together got a shit ton of money, a raise, a bonus and a promotion. I hope that person got laid, as well. I bow to this almighty casting agent!

The only trouble I see with The Cabin in the Woods is this: once you know everything that unfolds, does the film hold up? Is it all smoke and mirrors? I have faith in Goddard/Whedon, but only time will tell after repeated viewings if the film is as brilliant as it attempts to be. For now, for its shocking initial impact and sheer visceral thrills, the film gets very high marks.

A-

10 Comments

Filed under Quick Takes

10 responses to “Quick Take: The Cabin in the Woods

  1. Yeah it’s a very amusing film and I’m looking forward to seeing it again but I do wonder if it’s impact will be severely blunted. That said, any film that makes me want to watch it more than once is a very good in my books!

    • Exactly. If it makes you want to see it again, it has done what it is supposed to do. You’ll have to let me know if you think it holds up!

  2. I’m generally not a big fan of horror but the trailer and reviews I’ve read intrigues me. Plus it’s Whedon so yeah, I’ll rent this one. Curious to see Hemsworth in a different role other than Thor, too 🙂

    • I saw Cabin in the Woods before I saw Thor or The Avengers, so I had no idea who Hemsworth was. He didn’t make much of an impression, though I am curious to see the film (and him!) again. Worth a look, even if you’re not a fan of horror. It’s just a lot of fun all around.

  3. Alex Withrow

    A ridiculously fun ride indeed! Glad you got to see this unspoiled. For me, personally, Cabin in the Woods is by far the best Whedon project in theaters right now.

    • Glad you enjoyed it as well, but I don’t agree with your jibe on that other Whedon project in theaters. I loved the Avengers. But Woods and Avengers are really very different films, targeting completely different audiences. But I had a lot of fun with both. That’s the key word when I think of Whedon — he’s just fun.

  4. I also went into this film knowing very little beforehand. I had a blast with the movie and left the theater with a big smile on my face. Definitely one of the highlights so far this year. Glad you enjoyed it as well!

  5. Enjoyed your review. I envy you that you saw it blindly and unspoiled.

    • I don’t usually branch out to theaters, but I knew that if I was going to see this one, I’d have to go opening weekend. I’m glad I did. Thanks for stopping in, Ann!

Leave a comment